Home > Maths, Teaching > An Intriguing Idea

An Intriguing Idea

I have been struck by an idea picked up from a colleagues blog ( http://thegoldfishbowl.edublogs.org/2012/05/13/restriction-and-creativity/ ).

In his blog he refers to a list of ideas for a creative lesson and picks out one as “don’t speak for the entire lesson. I also had a chat last week with a member of the science department who was discussing a lesson he had done where he didn’t speak and had all his instructions put into a PowerPoint and he let the class go on with it themselves. I think there could become fantastic mileage in this idea and I really want to try it, although I think that the final few days in the run up to Christmas won’t be ideal for trialling it. I intend to plan it over the Christmas break (or them, I might trial the same idea with a few classes to see if they produce different results. Will top set Y8 respond better to the lower ability class I have in the same year. Will my 7 strong year 9 class respond differently to a 25 strong year 10 class?)

I will report back on this topic when I have more news.

Categories: Maths, Teaching Tags: , ,
  1. December 18, 2012 at 2:50 pm

    Sounds like a pretty cool idea.
    What sort of lesson activity do you have in mind?
    Dave

  2. December 18, 2012 at 8:01 pm

    I also think this is interesting. In my experience too many lessons are dominated by teacher talk. One of the reasons is the attempt to deliver content. Flipping the classroom may help with this!

  3. December 18, 2012 at 11:19 pm

    Hey Dave/Sam,

    I’m not entirely sure what the lesson (s) would be on, as yet. I know circles is coming up on SOW with year ten and I thought the investigations around circumference and area could be good topics to try this idea out with. Perhaps have a simple starter task which would ease them into the idea of the lesson and that I wouldn’t be talking/leading it, then have the PowerPoint set up in a manner that would lead them into the investigation themselves, then hopefully to the correct conclusions. There could be a resource pack with string, paper plates etc on each table to help? Do you reckon this could work?

    The idea has excited me, but is still very much in it’s infancy.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Comments welcome......

