Home > Maths, Starters, Teaching > Happy New Year!

Happy New Year!

So, the first day back has been and gone in what seemed like a bit of a hurry! I tried some of the 2013 starters suggested by Dave Gale’s blog (http://reflectivemathsteacher.posterous.com/2013-starter ) and they went down a treat. I even added another for some of the more advanced classes where they were asked to express 2013 as a product of its prime factors! (This was also my question of the day to other members of the faculty.)

The first day back has been fun, although I’m not quite sure my body is as used to the early mornings as it was before the break! My favourite of the starter questions I’ve used to day is this (from Dave’s blog):  “The digits used in 2013 are consecutive (albeit not in order in this case). When’s the next and last time that happens?” This opened up a great discussion as to how amazing it was that this is the first time it has happened for nearly 600 years, but it will happen again in just 18. In particular, my lower ability year 8 class were enthralled by this prospect!

I like starter activities that I can use across year groups, and am always astonished by who manages to work out the answer quickest. The person who worked out when the last time the year had 4 different digits was a girl in said lower ability year 8 class, which really surprised me, given that the rest of the classes I taught today were top sets. This type of starter activity also works well as a hook to gather the attention of the pupils early, and in every class these activities worked a treat. Tomorrow I will try these activities on the classes I’ve not seen yet, and may try the “Wedding Maths”  ( https://cavmaths.wordpress.com/2012/12/23/wedding-maths/ ) activity on the classes I’ve taught today.

  1. Dave Gale
    January 7, 2013 at 7:14 pm

    Glad they worked out well for you.
    Dave

    • January 7, 2013 at 9:40 pm

      They were superb, thanks again!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Comments welcome......

