Home > A Level, Commentary, cross-curricular, Maths, Teaching > New books and World Book Day

New books and World Book Day

Look what arrived in my room today!:

20130228-200235.jpg

This is my new classroom library display. A while ago I noticed that the maths section of our school library was very “minimalist”, and when I mentioned it to the librarian she told me she was hoping to expand it and asked me to suggest some books. She also mentioned she was hoping to get subject specific books into displays in classrooms around the school to promote the reading and library in general, which is fantastic, so I promptly volunteered to be the maths room!

With world book day arriving next week it is great to get the display up and running, and to know there are more in the library as well. I’m hoping some of the younger “fun” maths books may appeal to the pupils in the lower years, and I am hoping the ks 4 and 5 pupils may be encouraged to pick up some books and read around the subject. Embracing recreational maths and hopefully getting driven to take up maths at HE level.

Now I just need to think up a costume for world book day. Maybe George, from “Of mice and men”…. Failing that, I could bob on a dressing gown and go as Arthur Dent!

  1. Kerry
    April 2, 2013 at 10:58 pm

    Our library too is a bit lacking in maths books. I love the idea of having them in the classroom to encourage pupils to try reading them. There are some in the picture that I don’t recognise. Is it possible to have a list of titles/authors that I could give to our library/literacy coordinator to buy in if they haven’t got them already? Thanks

    • April 6, 2013 at 5:02 pm

      Certainly, I will send when I’m back in school.

      • Kerry
        April 6, 2013 at 5:46 pm

        Thank you

      • April 24, 2013 at 8:33 am

        Where should i send the list?

      • Kerry
        April 24, 2013 at 7:22 pm

        My email is kerrydunton@btinternet.com thanks

  1. October 21, 2013 at 10:24 pm

Comments welcome......

