Home > Maths > Wrong, but useful

Wrong, but useful

For those of you that have missed the first two episodes, “wrong, but useful” is a superb new maths based podcast produced by Dave Gale ( twitter: @reflectivemaths  blog: http://reflectivemaths.wordpress.com/) and Colin Beveridge (twitter: @icecolbeveridge blog: http://www.flyingcoloursmaths.co.uk/)

Podcasts are not something I’ve really known much about before, and I’d certainly never listened to one, especially a maths one, so I didn’t know what to expect! I thought it would be similar to a radio show, and a radio show about maths was something that appealed to me, so I decided to give it a shot.

The first episode (http://www.flyingcoloursmaths.co.uk/wrong-but-useful-episode-1/) was good, I enjoyed the maths chat and it gave me some food for thought. This was great and I was excited for episode two. My favourite bit was the discussion around the coolest numbers! (although 73 didn’t get a mention!) This episode also signposted me to other maths podcasts which I will investigate.

When episode two came around I was amazed. The whole thing was fantastic. The improvement was immense, which is saying something because I had loved the first episode! I imagine the improvement came due to Dave and Colin having the experience of episode 1, so really can’t wait till the next.

The second episode (http://www.flyingcoloursmaths.co.uk/wrong-but-useful-episode-2/) started with a theme tune, which was great, and the maths behind it was pretty interesting. The discussion then covered a few interesting topics.

A few of the bits that stick out for me were:

Colin discussed twitter and basic maths. He mentioned the fun that can be had by searching #basicmaths (it can be fun, although a lot of traffic currently about a new wordpress theme with that name!) Colin disclosed an anecdote where someone had claimed “a 110% increase”, and someone else had told them it didn’t make sense and used #basicmaths as an insult. Which is ironic, as in this context it does make perfect sense. This segment put the ludicrous idea into my head that Colin and Dave would take up a role of twitter “maths police”, spending time looking for other mistakes like this and correcting them. This idea made me giggle a lot. Who knows, perhaps it will become a segment!

A discussion around Peppa pigs maths, inspired by this pic I tweeted!

20130508-120247.jpg

All in all, the podcast are awesome, and if you love maths, as I do, I would urge you to have a listen for yourself!

The archive can be found here:

http://www.flyingcoloursmaths.co.uk/category/podcasts/

Categories: Maths Tags: ,
  1. November 3, 2013 at 12:28 am

    That’s awesome that you reached outside of the “recommended listening” and found some other great resources. I’m downloading their podcasts now and can’t wait to listen to them!

  2. November 4, 2013 at 2:49 am

    Have you ever listened to Craig Barton’s TES maths Podcast? I really like the resources he highlights in there. It’s worth a listen if you have time.

    • November 4, 2013 at 6:21 am

      I have, I’ve not listened to them all yet though!

  1. December 1, 2013 at 8:55 am
  2. January 7, 2014 at 11:25 am

Comments welcome......

