Home > Maths, Pedagogy, Resources, Starters, Teaching > Logic and conjecture

Logic and conjecture

A couple of months ago I was at my Gran’s house and I came across her copy of “Puzzler”. This instantly took me back to my childhood. Back then her and my Granddad lived on the Isle of Arran in Scotland and my mum, my brother and I would spend the majority of the summer holidays there. My dad would be there for some of it, but he wasn’t a teacher like mum, and as such couldn’t take the whole summer off. Granny was always a keen puzzler so there were always many of these compendiums around. She liked Crosswords and Wordsearches, but I much preferred these logic puzzles:

Logic1     Logic1

I also enjoyed the many number puzzles such as ken kens and sudukos. I think it was these puzzles at a very young age that might have been the first indicators of my love for maths.

When I came across this compendium a few weeks ago I immediately looked for and completed a logic puzzle. While I was doing so I realised that the reasoning being used was quite mathematical and that the able i was filling in was basically a two-way table. I decided that this would be a nice starter activity and so I made a purchase.

Compendium

I’d not used these as starters yet, and then this week Emily Hughes (@ilovemathsgames) tweeted this link to her puzzle of the week (http://ilovemathsgames.wordpress.com/2012/03/06/puzzle-of-the-week/) Tis weeks included this puzzle: http://www.ilovemathsgames.com/Flashpuzzles/logic%20puzzle.swf

Which reminded me of my compendium! I have used Emily’s this week as a starter for a few classes and they loved it, so I am going to incorporate more of these in future lessons. I’ve used it with a variety of classes from KS3 – KS5 and all enjoyed it, the faculty members i gave it to also seem to enjoy it too!

  1. May 17, 2013 at 9:54 pm

    I’m a fellow logic puzzle fan – used to do lots as a kid, but again, not so much as an adult. Hadn’t even thought about the link to 2-way tables….. I feel a lesson coming on! 😉

    • May 18, 2013 at 10:15 pm

      I love them! I really liked your one from puzzle if the week. I’d be interesting in hearing about a lesson you do on it. I’m looking for ways to develop the link and will keep you posted on any more developments !

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Comments welcome......

