Home > Pedagogy, Starters, Teaching > New timetable, PE, Rugby and a Teachmeet!

New timetable, PE, Rugby and a Teachmeet!

Last week was a brilliant week. There were parts of it that were knackering, and tough, but all in all it was a great week.

At our school may half term signals a timetable/year change. The old y11 and y13 stand down on study leave and everyone else moves up a year. We all get a new timetable and we get a half term to work with our new classes before the summer, leaving only new y7s names to learn in september. This year it’s an even bigger change as we’re moving from 6 periods a day to 5!

On the face of it, I’m pretty happy with my new timetable, it’s got an excellent mix of key stages and abilities, although I really loved my old one and my new classes have a lot to live up to! I’ve kept my GCSE group, who I am really enjoying teaching.

Obviously, with no Y7s or y12s, we have lighter timetables and all important “gained time”. I intend to use mine to write a KS5 SoW (part of my new role), and to observe as many teachers as possible to improve my own practice. Last week though, and this week, there is little time for that because we have Old Y11s and 13s in at every opportunity to cram in as much revision as possible!

Teaching wise, I’ve loved the revision and I’ve got off on a good foot with the majority of my classes, which has been good. I’ve also learned most of the new names!

On weds, a colleague from PE asked if I would go and check out his starter, and I stayed to see a very enjoyable lesson on Ultimate Frisbee! He has been trying to add literacy and other cross curricular links into his starters/lessons, and as such had asked me to head down and watch. The starter involved the pupils coming up with things they expected to learn about UF using the letters of the name to be the first letter if each idea, in a similar fashion to an acrostic poem. This worked really well and we got some great answers. He asked if I had any other ideas for him, and I’m working on some but haven’t finished them yet. (Do comment if you have any other ideas!) I loved the starter and the rest of the lesson was superb, showing great examples of chunking, group work, competition and higher order questioning. There were a few ideas I have taken away to integrate into my own lessons!

On Friday I was lucky enough to be able to watch three of our pupils turn out in an U13s match which pitted the best of North Leeds Schools against the best of South Leeds Schools. The match was superb, thoroughly enjoyable. And I watched with immense pride as our three superstars hit tackle after tackle and took drive after drive. It was a close game, and unfortunately we were pipped on the final hooter. But it didn’t matter, the lads did us proud. I was especially pleased to see one lad playing as he hadn’t even considered playing rugby 9 months ago, but after some persuasion from me he joined the school team and now he plays for school, a club and the schools representative team!

If all that excitement wasn’t enough, I attended my very first “Teachmeet” on Saturday, and saw some superb presenters speak on an array of topics. The Teachmeet was English themed, but I managed to keep my mathysness under wraps and got out without taking a beating! There were some great ideas to take away that I could apply to maths, and the ones that were purely English focused were still very enjoyable as I love the subject (but shhhhh, don’t tell the English department! [nb that said, maths is still much better!])

The week was topped off with a Bon Jovi concert(which was awesome). Throw in some cricket, a trip to a Leeds Rhinos match and the lions tour, it’s no wonder I’ve not found time to listen to the exciting new episode of “Wrong,but useful” yet!

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Comments welcome......

