Home > Commentary, Teaching > Grading grids – an aid to relection

Grading grids – an aid to relection

September 25, 2013 Leave a comment Go to comments

Blimey, September seems to have flown by pretty quick. It seems like only yesterday I was filled with that new term excitement, but it’s nearing the end of the month already! That said, it also seems like I’ve done a humongous amount in the month too.

This year I have started a new role as KS5 coordinator, which also involves overseeing ks4 intervention and g&t pupils, and I am also an NQT mentor. This has all added up to a hectic but thoroughly enjoyable few weeks.

During the first week I observed my mentee in am informal coaching capacity. The lesson wasn’t graded, but when I printed out the proforma I noticed the schools grading grid in the pack. You know the type of thing, statements to assess the lesson against. If you haven’t seen one for lessons your bound to have seen one for uni assignments or btec marking.

I was looking at it and it occurred to me that this would be an excellent tool to aid reflection on my own practice. I have printed myself a copy and I have placed it in my planner. At the end of each day I open it and cast a glance over it while thinking about the lessons I’ve taught, reflecting on how they might have been graded, and how I could have moved them up to the next level.

I think this has been pretty helpful. It’s been good to keep these things at the forefront of my mind, and the repetition of reading the criteria has helped me get them really clear in my head. It has also helped me evaluate strategies I have been putting in place and their effectiveness.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Comments welcome......

