Home > #MTBoS, Curriculum, Exams, Maths, Teaching > Drawing Axes

Drawing Axes

Today I’ve been thinking about drawing axes (as in the plural of axis, not as in two discworld dwarves preparing for a duel). The reason for this has been this:

image

This is the question on yesterday’s edexcel exam paper on drawing linear graphs. On the face of it a rather straightforward question, but there is one slight difference to its predecessors. The axes were not already drawn.

I’ve written before (here), about drawing axes. I always used to give out paper with axes drawn on as that was how the exams were, but then I observed an A-Level physics lesson and was baffled by the amount of time it too them to draw a set of axes, so I have started getting classes to draw their own. It is a skill that they should be able to do.

While thinking about this exam question I can’t help wonder how many pupils around the country Lost marks because they didn’t read the question properly and drew the graph in one quadrant.

I am liking the way the exam boards are trying to ensure the papers are less predictable, and I loved the triangle question (8 or 9). I’m excited about the changing curriculum and I can’t wait to see what the exam boards will do with it.

  1. November 7, 2013 at 10:44 pm

    I used to complain to our Y6 teachers that when kids arrived in my Y7 (middle school) class, they couldn’t draw axes themselves, because they’d always been provided in the KS2 tests. I hadn’t appreciated that had I been teaching KS4+ and known they weren’t on those tests either that maybe I’d not have cared so much.

  2. November 8, 2013 at 7:43 am

    Reblogged this on The Echo Chamber.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Comments welcome......

