Quadratics

Currently my year 11 class are working on quadratic equations. I have always loved quadratic equations and as such i am quite excited to be teaching them. I have recently gone over them with my year 12 class so I had some good stuff on and I have built on that to create a good set of lessons around solving equations. I’ve shared them on TES here. Most of the stuff is mine, but a couple of the worksheets and the tarzia came from elsewhere, but i have included them for ease.

As part of my teaching with the group I have been trying to expand their matrhematical thinking. I want them to be able mathematicians who can think mathematically and solve a mathemnatical problem put before them, rather than pupils who are good at answering questions phrased a certain way. They all already have C’s and B’s, and to ensure they hit the A’s and A8’s they need they must be able to think mathematcially. For tomorrowa lesson i have come up with this starter (It is in one of the notebooks on TES):

Pythagquadstarter

I’m hoping that they will be able to make the jump and combine the ideas to come up with the right answer. Even if they don’t, I’m sure they will produce some good maths to help them on their way!

I also intend to show them this photo (also included in the lesson):

Peppa

It provides a good talking point as the discriminant is replaced by a delta in the picture and next to it the delta is than defined as b^2 – 4ac.  Why the quadratifc formula shows up in Peppa Pig is another question entirely. It seems stranbge how many cartoons involve higher level maths problems, and I may highlight Simon Singh’s new book “The Simpsons and their Mathematical Secrets”, as something they can potentially add to their christmas list! (Its certainly on mine)!

  1. November 28, 2013 at 10:02 pm

    This is also a quadratic equation question, but there, we’ve given too big a hint already:

    https://docs.google.com/file/d/0B6lw97EHbvfHb2xvSUFtaTF2SjA/edit

    • November 28, 2013 at 10:57 pm

      Love it! Awesome!

  1. January 25, 2014 at 2:29 pm

Comments welcome......

