Home > #MTBoS, Curriculum, Education Policy, Maths, Teaching > A look back at 2013, and forward to the future

A look back at 2013, and forward to the future

I guess inevitably, given the time of year, I have been in a rather reflective mood. I suppose the season builds to NYE, Christmas passes, you catch up with family and friends you haven’t seen for ages and all this brings the year to the forefront of your mind.

On top of this, I’ve been reading many #nurture1314 blogs and these have made me think more about my year. (I would highly recommend reading this offering from @andyphilipday).

My 2013

On the whole, I’ve had a great 2013, I’ve seen my daughters first birthday, her first steps and I’ve seen her grow from a babbling baby to a chatterbox toddler. My partner has embarked on a return to education, and I myself have started working on an MEd (student discounts all round!)

Professionally, I have received a promotion. I’m now the KS5 coordinator for maths, which is something I enjoy immensely and something that gives me experience in the direction I want my career to go.

I’ve worked on my own practice, and my CPD highlight was the #pedagoowonderland event at Joseph Swan academy in December. I attended a number of other teachmeets and thoroughly enjoyed and learned form them all.

I had this blogpost picked up by the TES and it was published in full on their website.

Real maths teaching based highlights for me this year were: when a leaving year 13 told me I had restored his faith in maths; when a current year 13 told me he wanted to forge a career as a mathematician; when a year 12 pupil told me she had “gone off maths” in year 11, but I had “made it awesome again”; when a year 11 told me, I used to hate maths but now I can’t wait to do it at a level! And when a year ten came to find me to tell me he had just “worked out how long and at what angle to cut a roof joint in construction using that pythagoras thing and the tan ratio trigonometry thingy,  sir was well impressed I knew how to do it!” (He meant his other teacher, but I was too.)

I finally managed to read Simon Singh’s (@slsingh) book “Fermats last theorem”, which is the best book (any book, not just maths book) I’ve ever read.

This, along with the awesome numberphile  (@numberphile) and wrong but useful (@reflectivemaths and @icecolbeveridge), have meant 2013 has seen my already great love of maths grow exponentially.

2013 in education

2013 has seen many changes in the wider educational landscape, and I think some of them are for the better. The new maths curriculum looks good, but it could have been better. This news from ofsted (via @andrewold) is brilliant, and shows that they feel, as do I, that there is no perfect pedagogical style, but that teaching is about teaching the appropriate style for you and your class. (you can read more on this here). On the down side, there have been some terrible pieces of legislation passed, the worst being PRP (you can read more on that here).

My hopes for 2014

I hope to continue to watch my daughter develop into a thoroughly amazing person. I hope that my partner and I both thoroughly enjoy the education we are undertaking, and I hope to continue to improve my classroom practice.

I plan to attend more teachmeets and other events (including June’s #northernrocks event). I might even present at one.

I plan to continue writing this blog and reading the amazing other ones that are out there. (A list of my favourites can be found here)

I hope to read more! Maths books, learning books and others. Currently I’m reading Here to Eternity by Ian Stewart, Philosophy if the big bang theory, and Hattie’s Visible Learning for Teachers. My list of maths and education books to read us massive, so I hope to make a dent in it.

I intend to investigate more areas of maths I am not too familiar with, starting with topology, as I know the basics and have a good starting point.

I hope 2014 sees a move towards ending the inequality we see currently in the British education system (see this post for more details). I also hope that the newly redesigned ITT pathway can see an end to the high turnover of teachers (see this post).

I hope the changes to the GCSE sees the education system alter the way it reports, and thus removes the damaging idea of a threshold pass.

I look forward to the new a level curriculum with relish, and hope we can get plenty of exciting new content involved.

So, finally I hope you enjoy tonight and have a happy new year.

  1. December 31, 2013 at 6:48 pm

    Reblogged this on The Echo Chamber.

  2. Jill Berry
    January 12, 2014 at 7:14 pm

    I enjoyed reading this, and your refreshing passion for teaching your subject!

    Good luck with the MEd, and I hope 2014 is a very positive and rewarding year for you and your family. (Don’t miss the student discounts in The Handmade Burger Company….)

    • January 12, 2014 at 7:16 pm

      Thanks for your kind words! (and the info in handmade burgers).

      Have finished an assignment today so fingers crossed it goes well!

  1. January 12, 2014 at 6:02 pm
  2. December 31, 2015 at 3:34 pm

Comments welcome......

