Home > #MTBoS, Maths > 2048

2048

Yesterday someone tweeted “for those of you who haven’t found 2048 yet, here’s a link: http://gabrielecirulli.github.io/2048/ ” (I tried to find the tweet again but couldn’t). I hadn’t found it yet, but had seen plenty of people mention it on twitter, so I followed the link and found the game.

It took me a while to work out what was going on, at first numbers just seemed to appear and change at random, then I realised that you needed to match tiles which were the same and they’d add together, adding this to your score. Thus you end up with tiles containing powers of 2. I haven’t managed to get the 2048 tile yet, but I imagine given the name of the game that it’s possible, and probably where the game stops.

What happens if you don’t manage to get the tile is that the game finishes when the board becomes full and no adjoining tiles have the same value.

I had a few goes last night and managed:

image

A score of 3244 and a highest tile if 256. This morning I had another couple of tries and managed:

image

A score of 4964 and a high tile of 512. I’ve not worked out much of a strategy yet. I’ve been trying to look a few moves ahead and set up chain matches, and that seems to have improved the score, but I’m pretty sure with some further thought there are even more ways I can improve.

I was also thinking if the benefits educationally to the game. It certainly encourages strategic and logical thinking and provides a better familiarity with powers of 2. Perhaps a project on it may produce some interesting results.

  1. April 16, 2014 at 9:50 am

    I have written a free strategy guide on 2048 at: http://mathtuition88.com/2014/04/14/2048-math-game-free-strategy-guide-walkthrough/
    Hope it helps!
    Wishing you a great time playing 2048!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Comments welcome......

