Home > Commentary, Maths, Teaching, Theatre > Moving on

Moving on

Three years ago today I started my job, and life as a qualified teacher, two years ago yesterday I wrote my first post on this blog while waiting for a staff meeting to start, it was my daughters due date (she didn’t come for another two weeks!) One year ago yesterday I wrote this post reflecting on the blog and my year. Today I’ve been in to my new school, ahead of a start in September. It seems like a good time to reflect on a few things.

The three years I’ve spent in my current role have been great. I’ve worked with some amazing people, both colleagues and the students I’ve taught. I’ve been amazed time and time again by the students.

The school takes from a deprived area, and has a much higher than average number of “pupil premium” pupils. That doesn’t deter them. This week I have seen a phenomenal production of “Return to the forbidden planet“, which was put on by the foundation school (years 7&8). I was blown away by the talent and confidence they showed and can only imagine how brilliant they will be by the time they reach year 11!

Yesterday I attended North Leeds Schools vs South Leeds Schools rugby league challenge. Where the top 40 players in the city from the U13s (Y8) and the U14s (Y9) fight it out for the PIMS Trophy. We had six representatives in Y8 and three in Y9, and they all played brilliantly well.

A couple of weeks ago I saw a six form production of “For love and glory”, a play penned by two colleagues of mine. Again I was blown away. It’s been quite an emotional ride these last few months, First saying goodbye to Y13 and Y11, both of whom I will miss immensely. To be honest, I already do. Then I had to say goodbye to departing colleagues who I have loved working with. Now I have two weeks left, over which I will be saying goodbye to the rest of my classes and the rest of my colleagues. I’ve loved working here, and am sad to be going.

I’m also excited. Excited at the prospect of a new challenge. My new school is also in a challenging area, and the role is one that is perfect for me and fits to my strengths, giving me responsibility for KS5 and Gifted Mathematicians.

As for the blog, each month the number of views increases, and I have found it (and twitter) a great place to reflect, share ideas, find other blogs and discuss education. If you are a teacher reading this and you are thinking of writing one, I would say go for it. It’s helpful in itself, and has led to me attending events like ResearchEd York and Northern Rocks. It’s helped me improve my teaching, and helped me with my studies towards my MA.

The blog itself has grown, it still focuses on the four strands of writing mentioned last year, Pedagogy, Resources, Education Policy and Commentary, but now includes a number of blogs based around puzzles! (And, of course, plenty of mentions to triangles!)

  1. Jill Berry
    July 7, 2014 at 8:55 pm

    Good to read – I absolutely understand the mixture of sadness and excitement you feel when you leave one school/post to move to another. It’s good that you are so reflective, and that blogging/Twitter give you a structure within which to think about what you’ve learnt, what you’ve gained (and what you’ve contributed) as you move to the next stage of your journey.

    Have a great summer and a good REST so that when the new academic year starts you feel refreshed and re-energised.

    Good luck!

    • July 7, 2014 at 9:09 pm

      Thanks Jill!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Comments welcome......

