Home > Teaching > Changing Schools

Changing Schools

I’d never done it before, changing schools. I had been to two schools as an ITT trainee, then moved onto employment at a third school, but that was that. I had been there since. When I left at the end of last term I had very mixed feelings. I was excited to test myself in a new classroom setting, I was excited to sink my teeth into the new role I had been appointed to, but I was sad to leave the place I had enjoyed working at so much. I was sad to be leaving my friends and colleagues, and I was sad to be leaving my classes. As summer drew on both these feelings remained. Had I made the right choice? Would I like it at the new school? Would I fit in to the department?

Now we’ve been back two weeks. That first week, when all the other teachers I know we’re still on holiday, was tough. But the thought of 2 weeks at October was certainly enough to keep me going! The first day was a training day, which was focused around the good results achieved last year and the challenges we face to keep them heading in an upward trend. I felt it was an exciting school to be at, and am exciting time to be here.

I get on with the others in the department, and there is a good team spirit which I already feel part of, so the worries I had there were unfounded. I’m still getting to grips with parts of my role, but I’m thoroughly enjoying the process and the challenges.

That leaves the lessons. The new school has promethean boards, not smartboards, so I had to get use to the new equipment and the software. The room layout is different too, so I’ve had to get used to that, but I feel I have made the switch well. I have met all my classes and I really like them. There have been one or two settling in behaviour issues, a by-product of being new to the school, but I feel that I’m on top of them.

All in all, I am enjoying my new role and the new chapter in my career. I feel I have made the right choice, and I look forward to the journey ahead.

  1. September 5, 2014 at 8:43 pm

    A new endeavour is always mixed with feelings of excitement and wonder and a little bit of sorrow at parting from the current situation. One thing I’ve learned is that the world is small and we don’t really leave anything behind unless we intend to. I’m sure in some way, some how, the place you worked at and the friends you made there will find themselves back into your life!

    • September 5, 2014 at 8:52 pm

      Thanks Manan, I’m sure they will too.

  2. September 5, 2014 at 8:45 pm

    Wishing you all the best in your new role. Promethean boards are OK but I must confess for some things I use PowerPoint these days – it lasts and one is not subject to version changes!

    • September 5, 2014 at 8:52 pm

      It took a few lessons to.get used to using the pen to move things!

  3. September 6, 2014 at 8:17 am

    Reblogged this on The Echo Chamber.

  4. September 7, 2014 at 3:53 pm

    I hope the new job is going really well – we use promethean and it does do some clever stuff once you get used to the basics!

    • September 7, 2014 at 4:56 pm

      Thanks, a friend of mine has lots of experience of both and tells me it’s lots better! Not convinced yet, but am getting used to it!

  5. flyingcoloursmaths
    September 5, 2015 at 6:01 pm

    Glad you’re enjoying the new school! Best of luck 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Comments welcome......

