Home > Curriculum, Maths, Pedagogy, Resources, Teaching > Brigshaw Maths Meet

Brigshaw Maths Meet

This evening I headed over to the Leeds/Castleford borderlands to the Brigshaw Maths Meet. This was an event arranged by maths teachers for maths teachers with various presentations on a range of topics.

This wasn’t the first such event I had attended, although it was the first I had presented at. My presentation covered my frustration at various damaging shortcuts such as BIDMAS and TWO NEGATIVES ALWAYS MAKE A POSITIVE, and I encouraged all present to download Nix the Tricks.

There were other presentations too. There was a presentation from La Salle Education (@LaSalleEd), on complete maths. The presentation covered the same stuff as their presentation at the recent maths conference. I was impressed to see that they are supporting events such as these with sponsorship.

There was a presentation from one of the senior leaders at brigshaw on using Excel to create worksheets. Which I found very amusing and informative. It used functions of the spreadsheets I’d used before, but I hadn’t realised their potential for creating resources. I may write further on this later.

Emma (@mathsteacher68) presented on foldable. These seem like a fun and clever way to create packs which aid revision, and I hope to investigate further.

There was a presentation on Numicon, which is a resource I’ve heard of but never used. I think it has a lot of potential for use with pupils who are weaker at maths and need extra help embedding concepts.

Our host Jenny (@MellowsMaths ) gave a brilliant presentation on tactiles as a teaching tool for expanding quadratic brackets, and spoke of the benefits of lesson study as a method to continue development.

There was a rather interesting presentation on this website, which I plan to investigate. It’s called A plus cluck and it is an American site which has a massive range of questions which can be used in lessons as starters and discussion points. I would certainly advise checking the website out.

There was a presentation on mastery, and how it’s being used at a Rotherham school. This was particularly interesting to.me, as I’m very keen on the idea of a mastery curriculum and was pleased to hear that it is being effective in a school more local and similar in size than King Solomon Academy. This suggests it could work well at our place.

There was an interesting presentation on a plenary task involving key point being written on a piece of paper and thrown around the room, with other pupils then adding to the points. This again struck me as something that could be good for revision.

Finally, we had a short presentation on the usefulness of smartboards and how a range of lessons can help if your planning is mispitched.

This was also the first outing of my brand new, marvel based, notebook. As my trusty old one was finally filled at last weekend’s maths conference! It’s full of notes made in meetings, masters lectures, CPD sessions, teachmeets, conferences, while reading for assignments and other such things. Some had an immediate impact, some spawned blogs, but I also know there are many bits in there that I highlighted to come back to but never have. I think that now is a good time to start rereading the things and picking up those trails.

image

image

The trusty old notebook, now full!

If you were at tonight’s meeting, feel free to let me know what you thought. Also, I didn’t catch everyone’s names or twitter handles, so if you presented and want me to add details do let me know. I hope to see you all again at future, similar events.

  1. October 2, 2014 at 9:31 pm

    Stephen you mentioned A+ Click Math – it’s very good. Linked to it here http://mathematicsstarters.wordpress.com/2012/05/06/a-click-math/ and note that Craig Barton has made a video describing the site which I have included in the post.

    • October 2, 2014 at 9:32 pm

      Thanks Colleen, I think it looks great!

  2. October 5, 2014 at 11:37 am

    Are any of the presentations available online at all?

    • October 5, 2014 at 5:30 pm

      Not as yet, but I think someone mentioned they would be.

  1. February 8, 2015 at 9:17 am

Comments welcome......

