Home > #MTBoS, A Level, Assessment, Commentary, Maths > Assumed prior knowledge

Assumed prior knowledge

Today I looked at “the natural logarithm” with my year 13s. They did pretty well on C2 so I assumed there would be some proficiency with log rules. For the majority of the class I was right, but while circulating I found this in one students book:

image

Wrong, on so many levels! I usually do a recap starter, which is a nice domino activity I created a few years ago on logs to base ten, but for some reason I didn’t with this class. They’re a bright bunch and I figured they’d be fine with log rules as soon as I explained what the natural logarithm was. So instead I chose to look at the graph of Ln(x) as a starter, I certainly won’t be making that mistake again!

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Comments welcome......

