Home > #MTBoS, A Level, GCSE, Maths, Teaching > A nice area puzzle

A nice area puzzle

At some point over the last few days Danny Brown (@dannytybrown) tweeted this lovely puzzle out:

image

While waiting in the car this afternoon I saw the screenshot I’d taken of it and had a think about it. Initially I’d made a daft mistake with the base of a triangle and got the wrong answer (5:6 if you were wondering), but after a rethink and some in head workings I got to an answer I’m now happy with. I have since written the solution down and want to write about it here.

Firstly, when attacking problems like this I like to sketch them out. This step is one many students are reluctant to take, and I try to drill it into them that sketching is always helpful in understanding problems. If I’d had a pen and paper handy when I’d attacked this problem originally I’d have sketched it and not made my daft error.

image

From the sketch it is easy to see the area of shape A, this was easy to visualise.

In my working I then sketched shape B:

image

When I visualised this I made my daft error, which was to assume the triangle had base x. From the sketch it’s easy to see that it’s not, and it will need calculating, for this I used Pythagoras’s Theorem:

image

To calculate the area of the triangle I’d need an angle, so I thought about what I knew, the angle at E is made from a fold along EF so the angle must be equal to DEF.

image

Using the tan ration of the right triangle I got tan (theta) to be rt3.

Then it was a case of calculating the height and then the area:

image

image

The working written out properly looks a lot more thorough than my phone jottings:

image

This is a nice puzzle that should be accessible to higher GCSE students and definitely A Level Students, but I worry that most would give up. We need to be giving our students the tools to unlock this sort of problem. I’m not sure how we can do that explicitly. I set these tasks, give them hints and then walk them through my thinking to model how I would attack them, and this has a great effect for many. But I wonder if this is enough.

  1. December 31, 2014 at 12:22 pm

    I did it the same way (can’t see an alternative).
    One thing I’d add – as the final question wants the ratios, a variable is unnecessary; we can just pick an arbitrary length. I had width as 1 and length obviously root 3.
    Nice problem though.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Comments welcome......

