Home > Commentary, Maths, Pedagogy, Teaching > A bizarre solution

A bizarre solution

On twitter earlier I saw this picture:

image

It was tweeted by “Mathster”, an app which claims to be “a complete solution for UK and IB curricula”. The picture had me scratching my head. Why would you add the unnecessary step one into preceding?  Why would you refer to “moving terms”? Why? Why? Why?!

By saying “move terms” there is no explanation for changing sign, so learners may just move the term as is, which makes it perhaps even worse than the fabled “magic bridge”! There’s no mention of what’s actually going on! The final step is explained well, and I don’t know if that makes it better or worse!

  1. October 10, 2015 at 10:09 pm

    One of my students used this for her homework: http://www.tiger-algebra.com/drill/-7x~2_19x-12=0/

    I’m not sure what the purpose is of the first few steps, but she made sure to write them down anyway.

  2. October 19, 2015 at 3:03 am

    My Algebra 1 students are all using the PhotoMath app. I am not sure how I feel about it. What impact does it / should it have on homework assignments? hmmmm

    • October 19, 2015 at 8:10 am

      That app is bizarre, I had a student come to me with a load of correct answer and ash how they were correct cos he’d got them from photo math but hadn’t understood it.

  3. October 31, 2015 at 5:04 pm

    I found the same thing. A few students just write down the answer and those that try to understand the steps get really confused. Our policy in Alg 1 has always been, no work-no credit. Now more important than ever!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Comments welcome......

