Home > #MTBoS, Commentary, Education Policy, Maths, Teaching > A look back at 2015, and forward to 2016

A look back at 2015, and forward to 2016

New year’s eve, a natural time for reflection, my timehop has shown me my reflections from last year and the year before, and the Cbeebies pantomime is currently on its second consecutive showing on my telly so I thought I’d share some thoughts from this year and some hopes for the next.

My 2015

At home

2015 was an amazing year. I got married and continued to see my daughter grow. It’s amazing what she picks up and learns, and how fast she does it. She’s writing her own name, doing basic sums and even showing an interest in Star Wars.

The blog

This has been a continuing source of enjoyment, reflection and discussion. There has been more hits this year than the last, although not many more. I’ve also gotten involved with some
group blogs, Labour Teachers, One good thing and Better Questions. Do check them out.

Studies and CPD

I’ve been to some good events this year, I enjoyed northern rocks, and have continued to enjoy studying for my masters. This year is the final year for that and I’m currently in the midst of writing a literature review for my dissertation. I’ll be sad when it’s over, but intend to continue to read and research. I may even seek out further study opportunities.

One of my favourite new things this year has been the launch of the twitter “Maths Journal Club“, where teachers read then discuss a journal article on a piece oaths educational research.

Teaching

This year saw me end my first year and start my second at my current school.  I feel more established now and I have a fantastic timetable this year with some excellent classes (including this one and this one). The department was strengthened in the summer transfer window,  although there has been some tough times towards the end of the year. I’ve been mentoring again this year, which is something I missed last year, and I’ve been able to teach some of the new GCSE and more of the core maths qualification.

I was pleased to see some of my Y13 students from last year go on to study mathematics and maths related degrees at uni and it was excellent to hear that a former student is thoroughly enjoying his maths degree.

Maths

I’ve managed to read a few more maths books, although not as many as I had hoped. And the celebration of maths event in February was awesome, I not only got to meet Marcus Du Sautoy in the flesh but also for the see him talk about some of the Maths that excites him. I also got to meet some friends in the flesh who had previously only been twitter avatars.

I’ve been reading some interesting stuff on quaternions, something I enjoyed learning about in my final year at uni, and I hope to investigate them further – if you know any good texts on them then do let me know.

2015 in Education

Gone are the days of Gove,  where education policy was at the forefront of every political discussion and a constant source of front page news. 2015 has seen a further roll out of academies which left me questioning why the government weren’t just honest about the plans to academise all schools.

There’s been a lot of talk of Shanghai,  and an exchange programme. I have slight concerns over the politics behind this but am excited by the prospect of learning from another culture. I’ve not seen much written about this that has been able to give any insight into the outcomes yet, but hopefully this will come. I feel that the amount of non contact time given to teachers in Shanghai to allow for planning, marking and collaboration is key to their success.

There was a general election, it’s was excellent to read the potential new directions in education policy being championed by all parties,  although we did end up with the same party and the same ed sec. I took the opportunity to have a look at the last few years against the aims they set out in 2010.

We have found out more about the new specification for GCSE, A level and core maths, although I still feel that mot enough material has been released by the boards, especially for Core Maths, which will be assessed this summer and the new GCSE which will be assessed in 2017.

What about the future?

I have enjoyed 2015, and I hope 2016 brings more of the same. I hope to be able to find more time to read and more time to play my guitar, as well as continuing to spend time with family. I hope to be able to see friends more often too.

I want to continue to develop as a teacher and a leader at school, by being reflective, evaluative and engaging with the research in a critical manner. I hope to produce and excellent dissertation and to continue to study.

I hoe we continue to gain clarity over the new specifications and that we gain it early enough to ensure our students are prepared. I’d like to see the massive inequalities in our society and our Education system wiped out and I’d really like to see some changes to the regulator.

I hope you have enjoyed reading this, I’d love to hear your thoughts on your own 2015, your take in education in 2015 and your hopes for the future

  1. January 16, 2016 at 12:11 pm

    Reblogged this on The Echo Chamber.

  1. January 1, 2016 at 9:56 am

Comments welcome......

