Home > #MTBoS, A Level, Commentary, Teaching > Half term revision

Half term revision

Today I spent a few hours at school leading Y13 on a half term revision session. It’s something that I feel I would have shunned in my days as a student, but my students were keen and who am I to quash that enthusiasm.

We spent the time looking at problem topics from C3 and C4, mainly Trigonometric Identities and Integration. They are two of the topics that students struggle with most,  but they are favourite two subjects too.

The students did some recalling of facts they needed to know, and i filled in aome gaps, they applied their knowledge to challenging exam questions, both individually and as a class and I modelled some answers on the questions they were really struggling with.

It was an enjoyable day, spending a few hours talking about some of my favourite areas of maths with some great young people who are eager to do.well in the subject. Let’s hope it has a positive effect on their scores.

  1. February 17, 2016 at 12:21 pm

    Hi, Great that you can do this. I am interested to know when you do Y13 mocks and what stage in the course you are up to. We do mocks next week in C3 and S1 and I don’t expect to finish teaching C4 until Easter. Because of the mocks I suspended teaching new C4 content for a week. When will you complete delivering C4 content and when do you give mock exams to Y13?
    Thanks
    Mark

    • February 17, 2016 at 2:20 pm

      Hey, we’ve finished C3 and C4, hoping to finish applied modules by easter. We did a C3 mock in Jan and are doing C4 mock next week. Then a full round of mocks in April.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Comments welcome......

